Home > Opinion > Now What Barry?

Now What Barry?

There are two things in this world that I know for sure:  1.  Evolution is real 2.  Barry Bonds knowingly used performance enhancers.  Now, I know number one is still up for debate is some of the neckier parts of the country but I think number two is something we can all agree on.  This case is now actually going to trial and Barry is screwed.  Nobody in their right mind is going to believe that he took the drugs unknowingly.  Maybe if the prosecution accidentally put a racist on the stand he would have a shot, but I can’t imagine the Feds making the same mistake as L.A. county.

So what is he supposed to do now.  Its too late to get a good deal so I guess he just has to stick with his story to the end right?  Maybe not.  I thought ESPN’s Mike Salk brought up an interesting point the other day:  blame the system.  I know, I know.  Just bear with me for a minute.  I said the same thing.  Sure its completely bullshit but the more I think about it the more I think that it could work.

Granted I am a total bonds hater but I am doing my best to try to think about this impartially.  According to Salk (and I’m just paraphrasing here) what Bonds should do is admit that he did take the performance enhancers but he had to do it to keep up with the competition.  Basically, Major League Baseball made it impossible for him not to take drugs because they turned a blind eye to its rampant use during the home run derby years.  Brady Anderson hit 50 homeruns for christ’s sake.  Baseball was almost dead until Mark “It was just Creatine” McGwire and Sammy “Syringe” Sosa saved it with their home run chase.  Home runs were profitable for the league and the bigger the players were the more home runs they would hit.  If Bonds didn’t take the steroids, HGH, cream, clear, whatever he would have been left behind by the Sosas, McGwires, Palmeiros, etc and eventually would be out of job.

Please don’t think that I believe this argument.  I am just playing devil’s advocate.  I think lots of people were in the wrong in this case.  Was their pressure on players to use during the steroid era?  Of course there was and many players succumbed to the temptation.  I also believe that the MLB let it get way out of hand.  What makes me hate Barry’s guts more than the others is his inability to admit he’s been caught.  He has such a big head (figuratively and literally) that I think just maybe he has convinced himself that he is in the right.  The sad part is you know the Yankees or Red Sox would be paying him 10 mil to be their DH right now if he would’ve just come out and admitted what he did. This could all have blown over by now.  Just ask Jason Giambi and Andy Pettitte.  Now look where he is and he has nobody to blame but himself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

